NHS Induction

Truman Inducts 29 National Honor Society Members
Posted on 11/02/2023
This is the image for the news article titled Truman Inducts 29 National Honor Society Members

On November 1, 2023, the Harry S. Truman High School chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) inducted 29 new juniors and seniors.

Founded in 1921, NHS recognizes student achievement and excellence in the following four pillars: Scholarship, Service, Leadership and Character. With chapters in all 50 states and around the world, the organization engages and serves more than one million students.

Held in the high school’s Lou Volpe Auditorium, the ceremony included a candle lighting and swearing in of the new members by reciting the NHS pledge. Principal Jon Craig and Assistant Superintendent Chris Polzer provided remarks to students and parents, and several new members spoke about the four pillars. NHS officers for 2023-24 helped to plan and execute the ceremony. They included President Jada Peterson, Vice President Alicia Mohli, Secretary Savaira Abbasi and Treasurer Ella Cantwell.

“Last year our members completed over 1,100 hours of school and community service work. This year, we have over 50 members including 29 new ones,” said Elizabeth Gregory, Spanish teacher and faculty advisor for Truman’s NHS chapter. “We hope to create a more robust group service program and be present to volunteer to help in more school district activities. I am also on the lookout for a guest speaker.”

NHS Senior Inductees (12 Members, Class of 2024)

Madyson Abele, Olivia DiRenzo, Alexis Ibe, Krysten Jeffery, Chealia Kpou, Fatima Mendez, Nayeli Patino, William Paull, Molly Radhi, Abdelrahman Safwat, Julie Stoklas and Deion Wu

NHS Junior Inductees (17 Members, Class of 2025)

Thomas Bryson, Ryan Capaldi, Savannah Friel, Nathan Gilson, Madison Glennon, Grace Arkaseh Gondeh, Alisha Knight, Gabriela Lavertu, Damian Lopez, Jayda Lopez, Christyangeli Luciano, Jessica Miller, Siddhi Patel, Valerie Sanchez, Trinity Sylvester, Ava Verna and Beyza Yildirim

NHS induction

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.